Skip to content

‘American Idol’ Recap: Curtis Finch Jr. Gets A Standing Ovation

March 7, 2013

The 10 top guys fought for survival on the March 6 episode of ‘American Idol’ — did they fare better than the girls? Read our full recap below.

On the March 6 episode of American Idol, judges Mariah Carey, Nicki Minaj, Keith Urban and Randy Jackson were at times confused and baffled and others amazed and tearing up. Who do YOU think should make the final 10? Vote below!

 

The Top 10 Guys Sing To Make the Summer Tour

Elijah Liu – Keith said Rihanna’s “Stay” really suited his voice. Randy said he liked it better than last week. Mariah said he was very confident.

Cortez Shaw – He sang Bruno Mars’ “Locked Out Of Heaven” to mixed reviews. Nicki said, “You enjoyed it. You didn’t seem nervous so that was a good thing.” Randy said it sounded like he was straining but that his dancing with “dope.”

Charlie Askew tried to make his awkward turtles proud but failed (miserably) in my eyes. Keith said “something doesn’t feel genuine. It feels disconnected.” Nicki said, “I don’t know what’s going on. I’m upset.” Randy said, “I’m worried for you.”

Nick Boddington sang “Iris” by the Goo Goo Dolls on the piano. Keith said, “There’s such a vulnerability in your tone, I thought it was beautiful.” Randy said, “I don’t know if it was your best performance.”

Burnell Taylor got a standing ovation from Keith after singing his original audition song. Nicki siad, “You were born to do this.” Randy said, “love you, love you!” He even made Mariah tear up again!

More Guys Perform During The Live Show

Paul Jolley — Keith said, “I feel like you underestimate the quality of your voice.” Nicki said, “I thought you had a solid performance.” Nicki and Mariah said Paul should defer to Keith’s expert opinion if he wants to be pop-country.

Lazaro Arbos got a standing ovation from the audience. Keith said, “I love the way you connect with everybody. Great job!” Nicki said, “I think that was a very strong vocal.” Randy said, “He’s in it to win it!”

Curtis Finch Jr. got a standing ovation from all four judges! Keith said: “You have so much hope in you!” Nicki said she believes his voice comes from a higher power. Randy said, “I feel like the competition for tonight started just now.”

Devon Velez — Keith said, “You are such a good singer.” Nicki said, “You feel very real and believable. You look like a Spanish Ken doll!” Randy said, “This kid is effortless. I love this dude!” Mariah said, “That performance was incredible.”

Vincent Powell – Keith said, “Nerves got on top of your talent.” Nick said, “Your voice didn’t come alive in that song.” Randy said, “You overshot it but you’re still one of the greatest singers.”

Who did you love the most tonight?

WATCH: Girls Semi Final Round Recap – AMERICAN IDOL SEASON 12

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I really like the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb blog!

  2. Oooh, I love both of those. Which would you be more comfortable in? I know that you really like wearing tights and those types of tops, although the maxi would be quite summery!

  3. In these days of austerity plus relative panic about incurring debt, lots of people balk against the idea of using a credit card to make purchase of merchandise or pay for any occasion, preferring, instead only to rely on the actual tried in addition to trusted means of making settlement – raw cash. However, if you possess the cash there to make the purchase completely, then, paradoxically, this is the best time just to be able to use the card for several motives.

Comment

