Skip to content

RIM rebrands: To be known from now on as BlackBerry

January 31, 2013

Research In Motion (RIM) has announced today that it will now be known simply as BlackBerry, after it unveiled a rebranding that leans upon the “simple and elegant” commercial name associated with its various mobile phones, tablets and services.

“We have reinvented the company, and we want to represent this in our brand,” Thorsten Heins, CEO of RIM said. “One brand. One promise. Our customers use a BlackBerry, our employees work for BlackBerry, and our shareholders are owners of BlackBerry.”

The announcement has been made to coincide with the launch of the new BlackBerry Z10 smartphone and BlackBerry 10 mobile operating system at a launch event held simultaneously across four continents; New York, Toronto, London, Paris, Dubai, Johannesburg, Jakarta and Delhi.

As a result of the new branding, the Canadian smartphone manufacturer has changed its stock symbol so that it is now listed as ‘BBRY’ under the NASDAQ and ‘BB’ under the TSX.

You can find out more about the name change in the video below, which has been uploaded by RIM in the last few minutes:
Watch video Here

From → Phones

9 Comments
  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks

  2. My programmer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs. But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on numerous websites for about a year and am concerned about switching to another platform. I have heard very good things about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  3. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me. Kudos!

  4. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this website? I’m getting tired of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  5. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

  6. When I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment. Is there a way you are able to remove me from that service? Cheers!

  7. I was able to find good information from your content.

  8. I want to to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it. I have you book-marked to check out new things you post…

  9. Hi, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just wondering if you get a lot of spam remarks? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can recommend? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

Comment

